Dr. Aliyu Mukhtar Katsina | H.O.D. Political Science


Visiting the webpage of the Department of Political Science of Umaru Musa Yar’adua University is a strong testimony to your passion for curiosity and learning – two indispensable qualities necessary for human progress. This also means that you strongly believe in the power of knowledgeand education to shape your destiny just as they shape the destinies of nations. For us, in the Department of Political Science, this means appreciating the need to leverage upon available resources, skills, and competence to provide you with the type of education that empowers and equips you with the required expertise to develop your thinking abilities, build your self-confidence, and boost your competence in a knowledge-driven economy.

The Department of Political Science is prepared and committed to provide the best possible atmosphere and environment for actualizing the dream of imparting knowledge underpinned by the core values of integrity, trust, patriotism, and service to humanity. As a student of the Department, you will be working with a team of passionate and dedicated academic staff who are keenly working for your success; and mentors who are eager to pull down inhibitive barriers in order to see you realize your potentials and attain your goals in life.

Our academic degree is not a run-of-the-mill type that fails to prepare students to the realities of life outside the university campus. Our B.Sc. program is designed in such a way that it covers a broad range of topics with local and international contents and bearings so as to prepare you for a career in the academia, public service, and NGOs.

As I welcome you most heartily to explore what the Department of Political Science of Umaru Musa Yar’adua offers, allow me to assure you that we strive to be a Department like no other in the Nigerian universities.




The Department of Political Science is one of the five departments established by the University as part of the Faculty of Social and Management Sciences (FSMS) in 2012. The first batch of academic staff to manage the new department were recruited between March and September of 2012. Enrolment of students and commencement of full academic programs subsequently followed in September 2012. But like its sister departments, this department too faced a number of teething problems at inception. Top among the challenges it had to contend with was that of attracting and recruiting qualified, competent, and committed staff to drive its academic programs. Four years later, and with four classes, the department has witnessed modest expansion quantitatively and qualitatively, surmounting in the process some of its challenges to emerge as the most vibrant and attractive department in the Faculty of Social and Management Sciences (FSMS).


The philosophy and the core mission underpinning the B.Sc. Political Science of Umaru Musa Yar’adua University is to produce graduates not only capable of comprehending, dispassionately analyzing, accurately predicting, and actively influencing the behavior of variables in their political environment, but also critical enough to distinguish truth from falsehood, accommodative enough to tolerate divergent opinions, and bold enough to question accepted assumptions.

Our program seeks to inculcate among our graduates, deep and extensive mastery of political theories, tools, and instruments necessary for comprehensive and beneficial use of political science to advance the progress and development of Katsina State and its people, Nigeria, and humanity in general. The program has the following general objectives:

  1. To produce an attractive, stimulating, and congenial learning environment for all students;
  2. To develop and shape students’ understanding of the socio-political problems of their immediate community and the nation at large;
  3. To encourage students to develop as independent and reflective learners who accept responsibility for the management of their own environment;
  4. To encourage open-mindedness in political inquiry and tolerance towards diversity of opinions and perspectives;
  5. To engage in a continuous process of curriculum innovation and development that is sensitive to changes within the discipline and the outside world;
  6. To assist students in acquiring a range of cognitive and transferable skills relevant to their intellectual, vocational, and personal development;
  7. To provide an appropriate and enabling environment for the students to raise their level of creativity and promote the spirit of self-reliance;
  8. To create an atmosphere for desirable behavioral changes which would help the students to developin consonance with values of national integration and international peace and cooperation; and
  9. To develop and nurture relevant manpower for the development need of Nigeria in particular and the world in general.



Requirements for admission into our B.Sc. Political science program are competitive and designed to attract the very best candidates irrespective of social class, tribe, or religion. The modes through which admission could be secured are Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME) and Direct Entry (DE).

Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME)

Candidates desiring to join B.Sc. Political Science program of Umaru Musa Yar’adua University must possess five (5) credit passes including English Language, Mathematics, Government, Civic Education, or History in WAEC, NECO, NABTEB or their equivalent at not more than two sittings. In addition, they must pass the benchmark UTME scores as prescribed by the National Universities Commission (NUC) and UMYU.

Direct Entry (DE)

Admission could also be obtained via Direct Entry mode. Candidates opting for this mode must possess five (5) credits passes including English Language, Mathematics, Government, Civic Education, or History in WAEC, NECO, NABTEB, or their equivalent at not more than two sittings. In addition, such candidates must possess at least an Upper Credit pass in A-Level subjects relevant to Political Science.

Graduation Requirements

All matriculated students are required to register and earn credits in a number of determined compulsory and elected courses in specified number of academic semesters before graduation and award of B.Sc. Degree in Political Science.


Final Year Best Student Award

In order to encourage the culture of academic excellence and healthy competition among the students, the Department of Political Science has instituted a special award – Professor Habu Mohammed Award – for best graduating students in Political Science. The award which carries a small monetary token is to be given annually to the best graduating student from the Department with unimpeachable character record who has excelled in all his/her academic pursuits during his previous semesters in the University.


Despite its status as a new department and the challenges attending to this type of status, the staff strength in the Department is remarkably attractive and competitive. Its composition and specialization and expertise is also encouraging. Presently, the Department is being served by the following staff either in tenure or visiting capacity.

Contact us

Click here