UMYU at a Glance


Established under the Katsina State Law No.7 promulgated in September, 2006


To learn and to serve.


Our Vision

To be one of the best Universities in Nigeria with an established reputation for high quality teaching and research and innovative learning delivery techniques and to be in full harmony with its host community as the formulator of its hopes and aspirations and the promoter of its core cultural and spiritual values.


Our Mission

To produce well grounded, sound, God-fearing and entrepreneurially minded graduates, equipped with problem-solving and other skills attuned to the demands of the 21st Century environment, who can be self employed, and whose skills and knowledge would accelerate community development in particular and nation building in general through the regular and distance education modes using information and communication technology as a tool, thereby widening access to higher education significantly.



  • 3 km x 3km
  • 6 student residences
  • Sports Arena
  • Banking Facility


  • Academic                        532
  • Non-Academic                 516


  • Applicants                       6,258
  • Admits                             2,577
  • Percentage admitted        41%

Student Numbers (2015 – 2016)

  • Undergraduate               10,257
  • Postgraduate                   599
  • Percentage admitted       41%

Faculties and Departments

 Faculty of Education

  • Department of Education
  • Department of Library and Information

Faculty of Humanities

  • Department of Arabic
  • Department of English and French
  • Department of History
  • Department of Islamic Studies
  • Department of Nigerian Languages

Faculty of Law

  • Department of Islamic Law
  • Department of Public and Private

Faculty of Natural and Applied Sciences

  • Department of Biochemistry
  • Department of Biology
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Geography
  • Department of Mathematics and Computer Science
  • Department of Microbiology
  • Department of Physics

Faculty of Social and Management Sciences

  • Department of Accounting
  • Department of Business Administration
  • Department of Political Science
  • Department of Public Administration
  • Department of Sociology


  • Postgraduate School
  • School of Pre-degree and Remedial Studies

Academic Programmes



Faculty of Education

  • B. Sc. (Ed) Sciences (5 programmes)
  • B. Sc. (Ed) Social Sciences (1 programme)
  • B. A. (Ed) Arts (6 programmes)
  • Bachelor of Library and Information Science

Faculty of Humanities

  • B. A. Arabic
  • B. A. English
  • B. A. French
  • B. A. History
  • B. A. Islamic Studies
  • B. A. Hausa

Faculty of Law

  • LLB (Islamic Law)
  • LLB (Public and Private)

Faculty of Natural and Applied Sciences

  • B. Sc. Biochemistry
  • B. Sc. Biology
  • B. Sc. Chemistry
  • B. Sc. Computer Science
  • B. Sc. Geography
  • B. Sc. Industrial Chemistry
  • B. Sc. Mathematics
  • B. Sc. Microbiology
  • B. Sc. Physics

Faculty of Social and Management Sciences

  • B.Sc. Accounting
  • B.Sc. Business Administration
  • B.Sc. Economics
  • B.Sc. Political Science
  • B.Sc. Public Administration
  • B.Sc. Sociology


Faculty of Education

  • Postgraduate Diploma in Education (PGDE)
  • M. Ed. Curriculum and Instructions
  • M. Ed. Educational Psychology
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Information and Records Management (PGDIRM)
  • M.Ed. Educational Management
  • M.Sc. (Ed) Physics
  • M.Sc. (Ed) Mathematics
  • M.Sc. (Ed) Geography
  • M.Sc. (Ed) Chemistry
  • M.Sc. (Ed) Biology

Faculty of Humanities

  • M. A. Arabic
  • Ph.D Arabic
  • M. A. English
  • M. A. History
  • Ph.D History
  • M. A. Islamic Studies
  • Ph.D Islamic Studies
  • M. A. Hausa
  • Ph.D Hausa

Faculty of Natural and Applied Sciences

  • M. Sc. Chemistry
  • M. Sc. Biology
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Resource Management (PGDRD)
  • Masters in Resource Development (MRD)
  • M.Sc. Geography
  • Ph.D Geography
  • M.Sc. Computer Science
  • M.Sc. Mathematics
  • M.Sc. Physics
  • Ph.D Mathematics


  • University Central Library
  • Faculty Libraries


The University is equipped with an ultra-modern Data Center located at the heart of the University which serves as the hub of the Campus Fibre Optic Network. At inception, Fiber Optic Cable was used to link the University Library, the three premier Faculties and the Senate Building with the Data Center while each of these buildings were independently networked over Local Area Network (LAN). In the year 2014, thirteen (13) new structures were integrated to the Fiber Optic Network to achieve a 100% physical connectivity within the University.

From 2010 to date, the University gradually transformed from a wired network to a wireless cloud community as a result of series of Wireless Distribution Systems deployed by the State Government, the University, Nigerian Communications Commission and Nigtel Consultancy Services among other notable ICT donors.

In the year 2010, the University’s internet service was over a C-Band VSAT Satellite System on a shared 512kbps/2Mb bandwidth plan and was only accessible from 0900Hrs to 1600Hrs working days owing to insufficient power backup.  However, by the year 2013 the University migrated from VSAT to a more robust internet service platform using Fiber/Microwave over MTN Broadband. With this development, the University realized over 800% increase in the internet bandwidth used previously and was made to run 24/7 daily after deploying sufficient hybrid power solution. Additional 5Mb dedicated internet bandwidth was deployed by NCC as part of USPF Digital Acquisition Center Project to boost the internet capacity of the University in October 2014.



  • Centre for Renewable Energy Research
  • Faculties/Departments


Contact us

Click here

Connect with us